What a great start to Christmas

So, here we are, the week before Christmas.  You could be forgiven for thinking that all good people are gearing up for the big day, instilling joy and happiness in their fellow human beings.

Well, for the most part they are. But there are some nut-jobs breaking out of the woodwork.  I’m talking of course of the over-zealous, so-called Christians, spreading anything but peace and love.  What am I talking about?

Well, if you don’t frequent Twitter, or watch the news then you may have missed the death of actor Christopher Hitchins.  Not such a bit deal on it’s own, but when you then find out that someone has put this on Twitter:

This charming tweet came, as you may have guessed, from a “Christian”.

Of course, there were other Christians who spoke out against this extreme view and, for the most-part the twittersphere was in outrage of this nut. However, there were a few others that seemed to share this extreme view and one has to wonder if attitudes such as this aren’t the real cause of some of the problems in the world.

You might ask why Mr Hitchens has provoked such anger from this person.  Well, so did I so I checked him out and it seems he may have upset the religious community with his “God is not good” campaign.

Why do these people find it so hard to just accept that not everyone has the same point-of-view as they do?  Are they seriously thinking that to launch into such hatred is going to help their cause, or even help them get their points across.  I have no answers, and frankly I don’t care.  What I do care about is that this sort of thing is damaging to society in general.  Surely we’d be better off without religion?  Despite all the good they try and do it only takes a few exremist views to ruin it for everyone.

I’ve done a previous post on the fact that I find it difficult to understand religion, which caused a few similar undue comments and I’m nowhere near as extreme in my views as Mr Hitchens. This kind of trashing doesn’t go any way to promoting understanding, but instead, only serves to turn me off the subject completely.

I’m no psychologist but I suspect that even the most seasoned practitioner in the field would struggle with the extent of the diatribe contained within the posts of  this guy’s blog.  I’m not going to publicise it here (you can find it on his twitter profile if you click on his name in the tweet above), but basically anyone who disagrees with him is a homosexual!

I mean, really!  There are a lot of things that I don’t believe in or agree with but I don’t go around dishing out utter disrespect and hatred to anyone that doesn’t follow my views.  The guy obviously has a lot of issues and I doubt they’re all related to his religion.

Just to give a flavour of what’s been going on I present to you some of the tweets on the subject:

Finally, let’s end with a bit of sanity:

I’ll leave it up to you to decide which side of this argument you agree with.  I just wanted to bring it to the attention of those who may not have heard about it.

So … from one “disgusting human being” to all you others out there … have a nice evening!

