Talk about cats and pigeons!

Wow, I seem to have hit a raw nerve with that post on religion, didn’t I?

I knew it was going to be contentious, but … Jesus (pun intended).

To the reasonable bunch of you who read it and, maybe thought I was an idiot but realised I’m entitled to my opinion, even if you didn’t agree with it, and moved on … thanks.

To the unreasonable, religious bunch who read it (despite the ‘atheism’ tag), didn’t like what I had to say and went into full-on attack mode … did you actually read it properly?  I was making a comment on the people that attack anyone with an alternative view and what do you do? Attack.  Rather proves my point, don’t you think?

I would like to point out that in my research for the piece I checked out a number of religious website and blogs.  I read a lot of stuff that I didn’t agree with, but not once did I post an antagonistic comment.  Not one.  Why?   Because I respected their right to believe what they want and their right of free speech.

So why did my post create such a backlash?  Why the personal attacks on me?  Why, when part of the post was about such a need to attack, do people immediately do that very thing?

Unfortunately, I still don’t have the answer because in all the replies, no-one actually deigned to give me a proper answer.  Strange that.

It does seem to me that an inordinate number of religious people are trawling the internet for atheist material, just so that they can make their idiotic, mostly cryptic comments.  I suppose it makes them feel clever or something?  As far as I’m concerned they’re nothing but cyber-bullies and they deserve no place on this blog – and will never get one.

Whatever their reasons, these people obviously have far too much free time on their hands. And they never really read my post properly, otherwise they wouldn’t have resorted to the exact thing that I was venting about.  Or maybe they would … I don’t know.

For those people that tried to get a rise out of me – ‘yawn’.  It was so expected and you didn’t disappoint.

I’ve now turned off the comments on that post (and this one) because I refuse to let this blog descend into a pointless war of words …  oh … wait … my ‘spidey-sense’ is going off … I think I’ll be accused of not being able to take the criticism … ‘yawn’ again – they really are so predictable.

While I accept that, at times, I may have gone a bit over-the-top, in all fairness I did tag it under the “rant” category – that should give you a big clue for future reference.

And while we’re at it, this is MY blog and I am free to say whatever the hell comes into my mind. I don’t expect everyone to like everything I write – it would be nice, but I’m a realist and I know it’s never gonna happen.  I do ask that you respect that I have an opinion;  it may not be your opinion, but at least do me the courtesy of respecting my right to be different.

I would also have to question the motives of anyone who continues to read something once they’ve realised it’s not what they may have first thought.  You do have the right NOT to read the post if you find it against your own views, I won’t hold it against you.  Just don’t take it out on me because you read it and then get all wound up over it.

You should also bear in mind that I’m not under any obligation to let any comments be published.  I vet every comment and I will normally approve them, providing they’re not blatant spam or personal attacks.

Making derogatory comments really is pointless if they don’t get published, so why do it?  If the minority of bigots that left stupid comments actually thought for one minute that I would allow any of them to be published … well, that only proves how deluded they are.

As for those asking me to explain what I was talking about at various points – I don’t have to explain anything to anyone.

There’s only one rule on this blog: “My gaff. My rules”, as a great barman once said.

Apologies to anyone not involved in this … please know that none of the criticism is aimed at you, just the wackos.

I’d also like to point out that I do know that not everyone who is religious is so antagonistic. The attackers really do nothing for religion’s cause.  If anything they will turn anyone with half a brain off religion for life.

In fact this whole thing has left me such disdain for religion in general, which is a sad state of affairs indeed.

