Someone has to say it

Grumpy old man warning!

I just need to get this off my chest because it’s been boiling for a while:

I get really annoyed when people don’t write properly.

There I said it.

In this age of technology where pretty much everybody to some degree has an online presence.  Be it your blog, Facebook page – and/or MySpace, Bebo etc – the wealth of social networking sites available makes it all so easy to put your thoughts out there for the wider world to read.

My problem is more with those blogs or forums whereby posters insist on writing everything in either lower case or upper case, with tons of spelling mistakes and little or no punctuation.  Do these people really expect us to spend twenty minutes (or more) unravelling it all in order to understand what they’re talking about?

Don’t get me wrong, I can understand the odd typo – that isn’t what I’m on about here.  When I see a post such as I’ve described my first thought is that my nine year old niece can put together a sentence with full stops, apostrophes and commas – granted she’s still to learn about paragraphs but, heck, if she can do it why the hell do people a lot older have such a problem?

Before you all jump on me moaning about the “poor standard of education etc., etc., blah-blah-blah” save your keyboards because I am aware of this problem.  The strange thing is that, in my experience, it doesn’t appear that these are completely uneducated people which just makes my ‘flabber’ even more ‘gasted’ than normal.

Then there are those in the younger echelons of society who insist on writing things like “in da house” in an effort to prove just how cool they are.  If it’s used sparingly it can be used to good affect but when it’s used repeatedly it just becomes immature and annoying.

I don’t have so much of a problem with Facebook because it’s more informal, and you’re addressing friends, so you should be free to do so in any manner you feel comfortable.  Is this where the problem starts for many people.

It may well be that they start out with Facebook or similar sites, talking mostly to friends and family.  They then decide that it might be rather fun to move on to blogging, but don’t change the way they write.  Is this a conscious decision? Or do they honestly not realise that most people reading the posts don’t understand the slang stuff ?  Or do they realise but choose to not care?

I know I’m guilty of using slang words in place of the proper word like “yeah”, “yeh” or “nope” – I’ve even been known to write “prob’ly”, but I do so sparingly.

I suppose the fact that it annoys me so much means that I’m on the wrong side of ‘cool’ and quite frankly … thank God!  I wonder what they’ll think in twenty years time when they read those posts back?  Hopefully they’ll be suitably embarrassed.

I’m just glad I’m not a teacher because my head would probably explode.

