Better get my affairs in order …

… if I’m to believe the preacher Harold Camping from Oakland, California.

According to him the world will end on 21 May at around 6pm; I’m guessing that’s Pacific Daylight Time so that means it’ll be 22 May at 2am here in the UK.  Hmm, I guess there’ll be no point going too bed then.

But, wait.  How did the good Mr Camping work this out?  Apparently he multiplied three Holy numbers(?) thus: 5 x 10 x 17 x 5 x 10 x 17 to get 722,500. With me so far? Good.

Mr Camping ‘believes’ – a key word in this theory – that 1 April AD33 was the date of the Crucifixion. Fine, I’ll go with it.  He then added 722,500 days to this date to arrive at 21 May this year.  Well, I did this and got 22 May.


Maybe there’s a flaw in my calculation, who knows?  The fact remains that I didn’t take into account the change from Julian to Gregorian calendar and, because Mr Camping’s date it so close to mine, it appears neither did he.  I have neither the time nor the energy (nor the inclination) to make all the adjustments necessary because I really don’t care!

All the stealing, and the lying, and the wickedness and the sexual perversion that is going on in society is telling us something. So too is the gay pride movement. It was sent by God as a sign of the end.

Eerr … no, Mr Camping, I do believe that it’s a sign that God doesn’t exist.  If he did then surely he would have put us out of his misery a long time ago.

And Mr Camping has been wrong before when he said the world would end on 6 September 2004.  The reason given for that date being incorrect was that he hadn’t done enough study!  Deary me!  The man is a preacher – if anyone has had enough time to study the bible down to the last detail I would expect it be him.

I suspect that this time around will go off with yet another whimper and more excuses – probably because he picked the wrong Holy numbers to multiply or some other nonsense.

