Top 10 Chicken dishes

I was trying to come up with another list when it dawned on me that I don’t eat a lot of red meat.  I might have a bit of beef once-in-a-blue-moon, lamb even less so.  In fact I seem to eat more chicken than any other meat.

So it seemed like a natural progression to think of all the different ways I’ve eaten chicken in the last few months.

1. Kung-Po Chicken

Kung Po Chicken My all-time favourite Chinese takeaway (well actually it’s Szechuan duck, but this about chicken!).  Like a lot of Chinese dishes, how it’s made will depend a lot on the establishment, but it should be nice and spicy!  Lots of chillies and Szechuan Peppercorn.

You may find that your dish includes cashew nuts (but not always). Cheaper establishments may replace these with peanuts.

2. Roast chicken

Nothing can beat a good old roast dinner on a Sunday.  A roast chicken is the perfect meat for a roast. Add gravy, crispy roast potatoes, Yorkshire pud and your choice of vegetables to complete the offering!

3. Southern Fried chicken

I still have this every now and again, although by no means as often or in the quantities that I used to – in my youth it wasn’t unknown for me to have a whole KFC bargain bucket to myself!

4. BBQ chicken wings

This is a staple food during the summer months.  BBQ and beer … you just can’t beat it. BBQ chicken wings are really addictive – I can never put them down. They’re literally “finger-licking good!”

5. Chicken Dopiaza

A delicious medium-hot curry, with a thick sauce made from tomatoes and onions and mixed with potato and authentic spices.  This is one of my faves when visiting an Indian restaurant.

6. Chicken Chow Mein

A Chinese dish comprising soft and crispy stir fried noodles, bean sprouts, maybe spring onions, sometimes vegetables and in this case, chicken.  Also relatively low fat providing you don’t have too much sauce!

7. Chicken and Bacon Salad

If I’m having a pub lunch I’ll normally go for this or a chicken caesar salad (providing it’s on the menu!).  Now that I’m trying to eat a bit more healthily it has replaced my previous staple pub lunch of ham, egg and chips!

8. Chicken Fajita

Not a regular on our table but it’s good if you want something different.  It’s a bit fiddly, which is the main reason it’s not a regular, but it’s fun every now and again.

9. Chicken Soup

The great winter warmer-upper! Apparently it’s also a good cold remedy but I can’t say it’s ever helped me there!

10. Chicken Stew and dumplings

Another winter favourite.  I went for years without having this, but have just recently re-discovered the delights.  Shame I have to wait for winter before I get to have it again!

