My Top Five Books

Well I’ve given you my movie and album choices, so I guess all that’s left is books.

My top five books is an ever-evolving beast that changes depending on what I’m reading and how I’m feeling at the time. Also, like my movie choices I won’t be doing a review of the books – you can get that from Amazon!  Further, my book collection is made up of a similarly eclectic mix of styles as the movies and music.

I only picked five because I don’t read as much as I watch movies or play music, so picking ten would have taken ages.  I’m getting old so it takes a while to remember the books I’ve read and how much I liked them. The first two were both givens because they’re by authors that I’ve continued to read; the remaining three were a totally different story (no pun intended!).

Over my many years I’ve read a lot of different books by a lot of different authors.  Looking at my Kindle at the moment I have the complete works of Dickens, the complete works of Shakespeare and the complete works of H. P. Lovecraft.  I’d be lying if I told you I’ve read them all, but they’re ready and waiting for when I’m in the mood.

My first choice is Want To Play by P. J. Tracey. I first picked up this book in Gran Canaria back in 2004. Reading the book jacket it seemed like it might be good so I picked it up. I started reading it on the plane and was almost three-quarters of the way through by the time we landed! It was a gripping read and, for a first novel, it’s unbelievably good. A real page-turner.

My second choice is Blindsighted by Karin Slaughter. Karin is one of my favourite authors at the moment, her writing is so addictive. The way she writes her characters makes you want to love them / hate them or feel sorry for them depending on their situation. They really do come alive and I can’t put a book down if there’s some kind of tense situation going. This is the first in the Grant County series and sets up all the characters and some of background stories that are useful to know as you read through the series.  If you’re going to read them, it’s not imperative because each book does read well on its own, but it will help your enjoyment of the others to have the knowledge from Blindsighted.  I can’t believe these haven’t been picked up by a film studio – there’s some good movies in these books.

Some scary sh*t for my third choice. Dagon by H. P. Lovecraft. I’ve been a fan of Lovecraft since I saw the quote “That is not dead which can eternal lie. Yet with strange aeons even death may die.” on the front of the Iron Maiden album “Live After Death” back 1985. I decided to run out to Forbidden Planet in London to buy myself a copy of “The Dunwich Horror And Others”. Lovecraft is an author akin to Poe. He’s not for everyone with his (sometimes long-winded) descriptive text. He will use twenty words where another author will use five!

A bit of a classic for my next book. A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens. I read this at school – let me rephrase that: I was forced to read this at school!! I can’t say I was impressed – I won’t tell you my thoughts on Chaucer’s Canterbury Tales! Why do schools force these things on kids – they never appreciate them. I came back to this in my thirties and found it to be nothing like I remembered. I now have the complete Dickens collection on my Kindle and am gradually making my way through them.

Finally, I have an author I’ve come to as a result of having the Kindle. Impeding Justice by Mel Comley. This is a fast-paced thriller, not as brilliantly written as a Slaughter or a Tracey, but it’s very readable. I’d say it would be a perfect holiday book, although take this and the follow-up Final Justice because they’re fast reads. I read them both in just over 2 days.

I’ve read a lot of book over the years and I’m sure I’ll come up with some more after I’ve posted this.  There are also books that I’ve read but can just about remember the story – I’ll need to re-read them and may well re-visit this in the future.

