Gadgets I Can’t do without

If you’re anything like me you all probably have a host of gadgets that you use every day to get through your work and social life. If you’re not one of those people then you won’t be interested in the following; if you’re a fellow gadget freak then here are my top five gadgets I can’t do without …

The first gadget that I really couldn’t do without is my iPhone.
Kev's iPhone

Others out there will feel the same way about their smart-phone whatever it may be.  I got mine way before the HTC / Android phones came on the market.  It was upgrade from a Blackberry.  Yep, you read it correctly – upgrade “from” Blackberry.  I mention this only to stave off cries of “try a Blackberry” from the BB fans out there (you know who you are).  The smart-phone is a staple requirement in today’s technological age – you’re never out of touch be it via phone, text, e-mail, facebook, twitter, etc.  It’s all there on one little device.

I admit I haven’t checked out any Android phone, so it wouldn’t be fair to comment on them.

My next gadget is my beaten up old iRiver 20GB MP3 player.
Kev's iRiver
It’s a great device that, unfortunately, you can’t get any more.  It doesn’t just play MP3 – you can play / record in a whole host of different formats, including the wonderfully named Ogg Vordis.  Compared to today’s devices it’s a bit on the large side, but it does everything that newer models do and has a lot more memory.  I looked around recently for a newer model and I couldn’t find anything that had the same amount of disk space with all the facilities this has.  I can have hard disk space or the facilities but not both together.  I just hope this lasts for a few more years!

Third on the list is my Sanyo Exacti full HD video camera that doubles as a 12 megapixel still camera (I know it says 10 on the side but if you go into the settings it actually goes up to 12!).
Kev's Xacti
This thing is great for taking on family days out because it fits into your pocket and weighs next to nothing that you don’t notice it.  Add the still camera is good enough for general point-and-shoot occasions – it’s not meant to replace your DSLR so you’re obviously not going to use this for serious photography.  For fun days or raucous nights out it’s way better than a phone camera for stills and video.

A strange one at number 4: it’s my 16GB memory stick.  Having been an over-user of these things for the last 3 or 4 years I’ve had numerous sizes by nearly as many manufacturers, but this one is perfect.
Kev's memory stick
In my job (before I was made redundant!)I had loads of AutoCAD drawings and site photographs and this held every one of them.  Before I bought it I was regularly carrying around 2 or 3 separate sticks, which resulted in some embarrassing moments where I had to go through all of them to find the files I needed.

Finally, my last gadget is the Kindle.  Since I’ve been unemployed I’ve taken to reading a lot more than I ever have before.  Using this is a lot easier than having hundreds of books lying around the house – there’s not enough room to hold them all anyway!
Kev's Kindle
It also means that if I travel anywhere I haven’t got to find space in my bags for a books. Previously I would only take one because of space restrictions, but that’s all in the past.  Now I can carry as many books as I want on this beauty!

I’ve been over the Kindle in previous blogs but I’ll reiterate here, it’s a good bit of kit if you like reading – some e-readers don’t have such good screens; in fact I still think it’s the best one available at the moment.

Well, that’s my top five.  I daresay yours is different but that’s the beauty of life isn’t it?  After all,  if we all liked the same things the world would be a boring place.

